Upgrading my desktop

Discussion in 'Computers and Technology' started by ShivaSage, Jul 25, 2010.

Upgrading my desktop

Discussion in 'Computers and Technology' started by ShivaSage, Jul 25, 2010.

1. ShivaSage

ShivaSage Guest

Hello all,

I would like your opinion on what to do in my current situation. I have a Dell Dimension 8250 with Pentium IV 2.8 GHz, 512MB RDRAM, nVIDIA GeForce4 MX420 64MB AGP4x vid card, and Windows XP. I know I need a new vid card and memory, but do you think I'd be fine if I got, say, a 256MB or 512MB AGP4x video card, and another 512mb of RAM? I'd be a little above the minimum processor speed, at the minimum memory, and above the minimum video card, but with AGP.

This is the 512MB card I'm looking at, and this is the 256MB one. I'm not extremely tech savvy, and so I don't know if I'm able to use the 256MB one since it's 128-bit and the card I have right now is 64-bit.

For RAM, again, I'm not tech savvy, but it seems like the best I can do is put another 512MB in, by getting something like this.

Thoughts? (keep in mind I'm trying to spend as little money as possible).

------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 7/25/2010, 20:31:12
    Machine name: SASHA-A2B22EDC4
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.100216-1441)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
    System Model: Dimension 8250
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
    Memory: 510MB RAM
    Page File: 582MB used, 667MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420
    Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Chip type: GeForce4 MX 420
    DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC