Level trigger help

Discussion in 'Maps and Replays' started by Remiarn, May 19, 2009.

Level trigger help

Discussion in 'Maps and Replays' started by Remiarn, May 19, 2009.

  1. Remiarn

    Remiarn New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    I have tried this many times and I run into the same problem. When i move my civ to start level it spawns all 3 levels.

    Code:
    
    Set Level
    
    Condition
    
    Player 1 brings excatly 1 zombie food(civ) to "Human: bring on the pain!" 
    
    Action
    
    Create 1 Suicidal Zombie at "what level are we on?" for player 7
    Kill all Zombie food(civs) for player 1 at 'human:bring on the pain!"
    Modify resources for player 8: Add 1 Gas
    Set 'set level 1

    Code:
    Start Level 1
    
    Player 7 Commands exactly 1 suicidal zombie
    
    action
    
    Create 50 zombie bugs at 'zombie spawn 1' for player 8
    spawn 2
    spawn 3
    spawn 4
    spawn 5
    spawn 6
    Create 1 zombie food at 'human: level trigger' for player 1
    Clear 'set level1'
    

    then the same thing for level 2 and 3

    My problem is it spawns every level pretty much at once so, how can I get the trigger to throw out one level at a time without using zergling, drones, and such as the level spawn?
     
  2. Dragon God

    Dragon God New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Vancouver
    When do you want the next levels to start coming, 500 kills? 5 minuets?

    for 500 kills, you just have to have on of the requirements for
    the trigger lvl1 0 kills, lvl2 500, 3 1000 ect

    same for the minuets lvl1 at switch, 2 at 5 min, 3 at 10 min ect.

    good luck :yes:
     
  3. Remiarn

    Remiarn New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    I was looking for a switch that basically says

    bring civ to X location

    Though not changing the civ or location each time. Kind of like a defense map so players can choose to start the next level when they are ready for it.

    Level 1 start
    bring civ to bring on the pain

    kill civ @ bring on the pain

    level 2 start
    Make civ at level start

    bring civ to bring on the pain

    instead of

    level 1
    bring zerg zergling to bring on the pain

    level 2

    bring zerg drone to bring on the pain

    level 3

    bring zerg hydra to bring on the pain


    so on and so on
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2009
  4. Remiarn

    Remiarn New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    Is there no way to do this? lol
     
  5. Dragon God

    Dragon God New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Vancouver
    OK so just put a switch for the requirements on the trigger
    and make another trigger like this

    Requirements
    move X unit to X location (in this case it would be a beacon that starts a wave)

    Actions
    Turn Switch level X on

    Just make one of these for each wave.

    Oh yea and make sure you turn the switch off for the trigger that sends the units

    Good luck :yes:
     
  6. JakeKessler

    JakeKessler New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Your first trigger says:

    CONDITIONS
    - Player brings a civilian to Location 1
    ACTIONS
    - Create a Suicide Zombie for the computer
    - Kill all your civilians
    - Turn on a switch called Level 1

    Your second trigger says:

    CONDITIONS
    - The computer controls a Suicide Zombie
    ACTIONS
    - Create 50 Zombie Bugs at each spawn point
    - Create a new civilian for the player

    Here's why it's spawning all the waves at once. In the first trigger, you're turning on this switch. But you never have a condition anywhere to check if the switch is on.

    The first thing you should do is go back and open the trigger for the level 1 spawns and add in the condition "SWITCH--Level 1 is set". Then open the level 2 trigger and add in the condition "SWITCH--Level 2 is set".

    Next, your first trigger really needs to be a separate trigger for each level. Each one should look something like this:

    CONDITIONS
    - Player brings a Civilian to the Beacon
    - Level 1 switch is already set
    ACTIONS
    - Create a Suicide Zombie for the computer
    - Kill all your civilians
    - Turn on Level 2 switch

    What's going on here is each trigger checks to see if the previous level has already happened, then starts the next appropriate level. (Make sure the action to kill the civilians is before the action to turn on the next switch, or you could still get multiple levels starting at once.)

    Hope this helps!