Critique on my custom model skin *WIP*

Discussion in 'StarCraft 2 Maps, Replays, Modding' started by Biske, Sep 4, 2010.

Critique on my custom model skin *WIP*

1. Biske

Biske New Member

I started this skin a few months back, forgot about it, and found it again. I've yet to build the model for it (I've got his chest plate done but no mapping yet).

I'm pretty new to making texture but have been doing 3d modeling for quite some time. I just wanted to get a few more peoples input before even finishing the texture to see if the highlighting and shadowing look fine. Also, I was wondering what resolution SC2 textures are usually in. I made this at 1024x1024, but I'll be fine with having to lower the resolution.

[​IMG]

The custom unit's name will be the Marine Haunter. He'll be more like a firebat/reaper combo when finished. I plan on his movement being like the Reaper while he'll attack like a Firebat, giving a more... well, overall unique use.

Note: The wires on the stomach area will be moved to another area entirely of the overall texture. There are other pieces under it which will be used elsewhere on the model.

2. EatMeReturns

EatMeReturns Happy Mapper Moderator

Albuquerque, New Mexico
    I like the concept and the skin. I do not know the resolution though, sorry.

3. Biske

Biske New Member

Preferably he'll be more of a hero because when I finish him and start learning the editor, I'll be making a bit of a little brawl game to test him and the map making skills. He's obviously going to end up colored, but I've been debating the colors. I'm not sure if I want him black and red or black and gray, or any other color for that matter.

4. EatMeReturns

Albuquerque, New Mexico